2022 Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon

hmh p 03026 gohs 2022 luncheon web 720x440 date.jpg 1440x880 q85 crop subsampling 2 upscale

2022 Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon honoring Y. Ping Sun and David W. Leebron

Special Guest Speaker Juju Chang

Thursday, November 10, 2022

Each year, the Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon raises essential funds supporting Holocaust and Human Rights education for students, teachers, members and the public. Thank you for your support of Holocaust Museum Houston!

leebrons photo

Y. Ping Sun and David W. Leebron

The 2022 Guardian of the Human Spirit Award Luncheon honored Y. Ping Sun and David W. Leebron, active supporters of the Museum for more than a decade. Ping and David came to Houston in 2004 when David was named the seventh president of Rice University. During his 18-year tenure, Rice University saw unprecedented growth of the campus, student-body enrollment and diversity and community engagement well “beyond the hedges.” Far exceeding her official capacity as university representative, Ping served on numerous boards and held key community positions while bringing international visibility to Rice. As prominent community leaders and global ambassadors for Houston, this dynamic couple’s vast contributions transformed the purpose of Rice University and what it means to be a Houstonian.

juju chang photo

Juju Chang

Special guest speaker was Juju Chang, Emmy Award-winning co-anchor of ABC News Nightline and a regular contributor to Good Morning America and 20/20. One of the most prominent Asian Americans in broadcast news, Chang made U.S. broadcast history co-anchoring the 2021 ABC News Live special, Stop The Hate: The Rise in Violence Against Asian Americans.

Thank you for your support!
Honorary Chair
  • =Ross Moody
Luncheon Chairs
  • =Anne & Albert Chao
  • =Nancy Li-Tarim & Dr. Soner Tarim
  • =Cindy & Frank M.K. Liu
  • =Macey & Harry Reasoner
Host Committee Chairs
  • =Cynthia & Bucky Allshouse
  • =Inna Wizig
Host Committee
  • =Sofia Adrogué & Sten Gustafson
  • =Sandy P. Aron
  • =Sheila Aron
  • =Cyrus Bahrami
  • =Laurie & Milton Boniuk
  • =Kaki & Larry Buck
  • =Andrea Caracostis, MD
  • =Brian Caress
  • =Rhona & Bruce Caress
  • =Honorable Theresa Chang & Peter Chang, MD
  • =May & Paul Chu
  • =Molly & Jim Crownover
  • =Nancy & Jack Dinerstein
  • =Denise & Steve Estrin
  • =Kelli Cohen Fein & Martin Fein
  • =Betty & Cecil Fong
  • =Lily & Charles Foster
  • =Martha & Don Freedman
  • =Andrew T. Gardener
  • =Paula Goldstein
  • =Cheryl & Stephen Golub
  • =Kathy & Glen Gondo
  • =Maureen & Jim Hackett
  • =Sharyn Feller Harris & David Harris
  • =Punkin & Walter Hecht
  • =Shelly & Brian Hendry
  • =Larry Hoffman
  • =Mady & Ken Kades
  • =Elyse & Lewis Kalmans
  • =Gail & Dr. Milton Klein
  • =Bonna Kol
  • =Shirley Kwan
  • =Wea Lee
  • =Linda & G. Walter McReynolds, MD
  • =Diane Merrill
  • =Pauline & Alfie Meyerson
  • =Edith Mincberg
  • =Katie & Philip Morgan
  • =Patti & Mike Morgan
  • =Leslie & Russ Robinson
  • =Regina Rogers
  • =Jeri & Marc Shapiro
  • =Limor & Stuart Smith
  • =Sue Smith
  • =Lois & George Stark
  • =Anna Steinberger
  • =Amy Sung
  • =Donna & Philip Tenenbaum
  • =Linda Toyota
  • =Katherine Treitsman
  • =Phoebe & Bobby Tudor
  • =Joy & Benjamin Warren
  • =Jeannie & Gary Wermuth
  • =Vicki West & Ralph Burch
  • =Beth Wolff
  • =Cyvia Wolff
  • =Ed Wolff

As of August 11

Since 1997, Holocaust Museum Houston (HMH) has recognized dedicated individuals and organizations who have worked to enhance the lives of others with the Guardian of the Human Spirit Award. These individuals and organizations embody the mission of the Museum by demonstrating a true commitment to service and building an open-minded society for the enrichment of the local population.

Previous recipients of the award have included Punkin and Walter Hecht; Dr. Milton Boniuk; the Astros Foundation; Texas A&M Corps of Cadets and Aggie Liberators of World War II; UT President Gregory L. Fenves and The University of Texas at Austin; Ric Campo; Velva G. and H. Fred Levine; Edith and Josef Mincberg, Bill Morgan and Murry Bowden; the Harry Mach family; KIPP founders Dave Levin and Mike Feinberg; former Mayor Annise Parker, Barbara and Gerald Hines; Marc J. Shapiro; Lester and Sue Smith; Sandra Weiner and Martin Fein; Naomi Warren and Fred Zeidman; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Ed Wulfe and the H-E-B grocery chain; Jack Blanton and The Houston Chronicle; the Rev. William A. Lawson and Julie and Ben Rogers; Linda P. Lay and Siegi Izakson; and Ron Stone.

Questions? Contact Amanda Shagrin at 713-527-1622 or spiritlunch@hmh.org