About HMH

Boards and Leadership

Board and Leadership Members of HMH

Carl Josehart, Board Chair

Carl E. Josehart is an accomplished healthcare executive with over 30 years of experience. He currently serves as the Chief Operating Officer for Jewish Family Service Houston. Past experience  includes 11 years as CEO of TIRR Memorial Hermann, leadership experience in acute care, ambulatory care and earlier in his career as a clinical social worker.

Carl’s career has been distinguished by a commitment to social justice and serving underserved or historically disadvantaged populations including individuals impacted by poverty, racial, ethnic or religious discrimination and promoting equality for the lgbt community.

Carl is a frequent speaker and lecturer in topics ranging from healthcare administration, social work and issues related to disability and access to equitable healthcare for historically underserved communities.

In 2018 Carl was named Humanitarian of the Year by The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship – Houston Galveston, and in 2017, Carl was named a distinguished Alumnus of the Brown School of Social Work. He is a Senior Fellow with the American Leadership Forum Houston /Gulf Coast Chapter, a graduate of the Center for Houston’s Future Business & Civic Leadership Forum and in 2003 was named a Health Ethics Trust Fellow.

Carl is active with many community organizations including currently serving on the board of Holocaust Museum Houston, The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship – Houston Galveston. Carl also serves on the Finance Committee for the American Leadership Forum Houston/Gulf Coast Chapter and previously served on the boards of the Anti-Defamation League – Houston and Congregation Emanu El.

Carl holds a Bachelor’s Degree Psychology and a Master’s Degree in Social Work from Washington University in St. Louis.

Kelly J. Zúñiga, Ed.D., Chief Executive Officer

Dr.  Kelly J. Zúñiga serves as the CEO at the Holocaust Museum Houston which is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors' legacy. She is responsible for all museum operations and reports to a 32 member Board of Trustees and a 75 member Board of Advisors. She also serves as the CEO for the Holocaust Museum Houston Foundation Board.

Her past work experience includes key fundraising positions with the Houston Community College Foundation, Houston Zoo, Inc.; University of Houston System; Sacred Heart University in Fairfield, Connecticut; Claremont Graduate University in Claremont, California; and Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. She earned her Doctor of Education from the University of Houston in Administration and Supervision and in addition, she has earned a Master of Business Administration from the University of San Diego and a Bachelor of Science in Finance from San Diego State University.

Dr. Zúñiga is a Certified Fund Raising Executive and adjunct lecturer at Texas A&M University’s Bush School of Government & Public Service and serves as an adjunct lecturer for Art of Fundraising I at the Rice University Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership at the Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies. She is also a member of the Greater Houston Partnership’s Executive Women’s Partnership, the Houston Museum District Executive Board, and is a Sr. Fellow, American Leadership Forum Class of XXXIV. She was named in 2013 by Houston Woman Magazine, “Houston’s 50 Most Influential Women of 2012.” and in 2016 was awarded by the Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater Houston Chapter the M. Anne Murphy Award for Professional Advancement. In 2019, Dr. Zúñiga was a recipient of the Houston Business Journal’s Most Admired CEO Awards.

Board of Trustees

Board Chair
Carl Josehart
Nancy Li-Tarim
Steve Estrin

Vice Chairs

Heidi Gerger
Diversity and Inclusion
Tali Blumrosen*
Jerry Rochman
Guillermo Guefen
Jerry Martin
Peter Chang, M.D.
Survivor Services 
Chaja Verveer**
Immediate Past Chair 
Benjamin Warren*


Abby Daniels
Mindy Morgan Finger
Charles Foster
Deborah Gordon
Jason Gordon
Shelly Hendry
B.J. Herz
Marvalette Hunter
Kisha Itkin
Mady Kades
Evan H. Katz
Gail Klein*
Nicole Lowenstein
Gary Markowitz*
Alfie Meyerson
Russell Molina
Carmen Ng
Hyman Penn, M.D.
Limor Smith

Board of Advisors

Sheila Aron
Stevie Bingham
Sara Brook
Larry Buck
Ellen Cohen
Bailey Dalton-Binion
Richard Deutsch
Nancy Dinerstein
Brad Eastman
Linda Eisemann
Emran El-Badawi
Denise Estrin
Sharyn Feller
Laura Freudenberger
Andrew Gardener
Rhoda Goldberg
Cheryl Golub
Luis F. Gomar
Marty Goossen
Lynn Gordon
Gary Grossman
Lauren Harrison
Renee Helfman
Barbara Hines
Laura Jaramillo
Janice Jucker
Elyse Spector Kalmans
Mark Khorsandi, M.D.
Connie Kwan-Wong
Richard Leibman
Ann Leis
Kenneth Li
Linda Lorelle
Rebecca Luks
Rabbi David Lyon
Maryanne Maldonado
Rosalyn Margolis
Hans Mayer**
Sherry Merfish
Edith Mincberg**
Mallory Mincberg
Stephanie Mitzner
Steven Mitzner
Fr. Donald Nesti
Judy Nyquist
Harvey Rosenstock, M.D.
Zaida Saliba
Hon. Arthur Schechter
Anna Steinberger, Ph.D.**
Ruth Steinfeld**
Jennifer Stockel
Jill Levit Talisman
Alberta Totz
Jovon Tyler
Haya Varon
Mark Wade
Ben Waserman**
Alyssa Weinstein-Sears
Inna Wizig
Anat Kaufman Zeidman


Kelly J. Zúñiga, Ed.D.
Chief Executive Officer, Holocaust Museum Houston
Jack Kins
Chair, Holocaust Museum Houston Foundation

Holocaust Museum Foundation

Jack Kins

Barnett Gershen

Pepper Lieberman

HMH Chair
Carl Josehart

HMH Treasurer
Steve Estrin

Board of Directors
Vera Baker
Barry Goldblatt
Rick Kaplan
Stan Levy
Phil Pilibosian
Robert Shoss
Jeffrey Stein

Kelly J. Zúñiga, Ed.D.
Chief Executive Officer
Holocaust Museum Houston

**Denotes Holocaust Survivor

Members of the Holocaust Museum Houston Board of Advisors can be reached by calling 713-942-8000, ext. 100, or by e-mailing info@hmh.org.

Past Chairs Circle

Martin J. Fein, 1991-1994
Frank Goldberg, 1994-1996
William J. Morgan, 1996-1998
E.D. Wulfe, z”l, 1998-2000
Roy W. Nichol, 2000-2001
R. Edwin Allday, 2001-2002
David Bell, Ed.D., 2002-2003
Joel Spira, 2003-2004
Eileen Weisman, 2004-2005
Hon. Peter N. Berkowitz, z”l, 2005-2007
Walter Hecht, 2007-2009
Michael S. Goldberg, 2009-2011
Tali Blumrosen, 2011-2013
Mark S. Mucasey, 2013-2015
Gail Klein, 2015-2016
Gary Markowitz, 2016-2018
Benjamin Warren, 2018-2020