2019 Guardian of the Human Spirit Award Luncheon

p 02129 gohs 2019 web banner 1240x880.jpg 1440x880 q85 crop subsampling 2 upscale


November 25, 2019
Registration – 11:00 am
Luncheon – Noon

Hilton Americas-Houston

The 2019 Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon honored the Astros Foundation, the official team charity of the Houston Astros. The Astros Foundation seeks to harness the passion of baseball fans to support youth baseball and softball programs, the recognition/honor of our nation’s military, childhood cancer awareness and efforts to reduce homelessness.

During the luncheon, H-E-B President Scott McClelland moderated a conversation with Houston Astros Executive Advisor of Business Relations Reid Ryan and National Baseball Hall-of-Famer Jeff Bagwell. One of the youngest team presidents in the game, Ryan has always emphasized the importance of the fan experience. Prior to joining the Astros, Ryan was the founder and CEO of both the Corpus Christi Hooks and the Round Rock Express minor league franchises, both of which are perennially lauded as two of the top franchises in minor league attendance, stadium satisfaction and franchise value. Astros fan favorite Bagwell helped Houston advance to the playoffs six times from 1997-2005. Inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2017, the first baseman is one of only 11 players in MLB history with at least 440 home runs and 200 stolen bases.

Luncheon Chairs
  • =Barbara and Michael Gamson
  • =Patti and Mike Morgan
  • =Marcie and Bob Zlotnik
Host Committee Chairs
  • =Renee and Alan Helfman
Host Committee
  • =Sue Sue & Don Aron
  • =Kathy & Drew Berkman
  • =Tali & Eric Blumrosen
  • =Laurie & Milton Boniuk
  • =Polly & Murry Bowden
  • =Kaki & Larry Buck
  • =Rhona & Bruce Caress
  • =Clare Casademont & Mike Metz
  • =Michele & Glenn Clements
  • =Phyllis Cohen & Lewis Linn
  • =Nancy & Jack Dinerstein
  • =Laura & Scott Ducoff
  • =Denise & Steve Estrin
  • =Kelli Cohen Fein & Martin Fein
  • =Nancy & Richie Freed
  • =Martha & Don Freedman
  • =Elizabeth & Will Galtney
  • =Andrew T. Gardener
  • =Anita & Stuart Gaylor
  • =Heidi & David Gerger
  • =Kate & Steve Gibson
  • =Paula Goldstein
  • =Cheryl & Stephen Golub
  • =Florie & Guillermo Guefen
  • =Punkin & Walter Hecht
  • =Sandi & Tom Hedrick
  • =Shelly & Brian Hendry
  • =Mindy & Jeff Hildebrand
  • =Wendy & Jeff Hines
  • =Lisa & Michael Holthouse
  • =Ursula & Angel Jimenez
  • =Mady & Ken Kades
  • =Katie Keenan & Scott Fortney
  • =Carol & Neil Kelley
  • =Carolyn & Matt Khourie
  • =Gail & Milton Klein
  • =Velva G. & H. Fred Levine
  • =Erica & Benjy Levit
  • =Melanie & Stan Levy
  • =Barbara & Barry Lewis
  • =Beth & Craig Lieberman
  • =Nicole & Glenn Lowenstein
  • =Rabbi David & Lisa Lyon
  • =Mickey & Mike Marvins
  • =Diane Merrill
  • =Edith Mincberg
  • =Ira Mitzner & Steven Mitzner
  • =Katherine & Paul Murphy
  • =Laura & Roy Nichol
  • =Vicki Rabin & Andy Bursten
  • =Eileen Reed & Leon Fastow
  • =Leslie & Russ Robinson
  • =Regina Rogers
  • =Glen Rosenbaum
  • =Joyce & Ambassador Arthur Schechter
  • =Melissa & Doug Schnitzer
  • =Amy & Peter Shaper
  • =Jeri & Marc Shapiro
  • =Limor & Stuart Smith
  • =Sue Smith
  • =Helen & Andrew Spector
  • =Joel Spira
  • =Jill & Charlie Talisman
  • =Nancy Li-Tarim & Dr. Soner Tarim
  • =John & Becca Cason Thrash
  • =Ellen & Dan Trachtenberg
  • =Robin & Donald Wayne
  • =Martine & Ricardo Weitz
  • =Jeannie & Gary Wermuth
  • =Marcy Taub & Tom Wessel
  • =Inna Wizig

As of 7/17/2020

Since 1997, Holocaust Museum Houston (HMH) has recognized dedicated individuals and organizations who have worked to enhance the lives of others with the Guardian of the Human Spirit Award. These individuals and organizations embody the mission of the Museum by demonstrating a true commitment to service and building an open-minded society for the enrichment of the local population.

Previous recipients of the award have included Texas A&M Corps of Cadets and Aggie Liberators of World War II; UT President Gregory L. Fenves and The University of Texas at Austin; Ric Campo; Velva G. and H. Fred Levine; Edith and Josef Mincberg, Bill Morgan and Murry Bowden; the Harry Mach family; KIPP founders Dave Levin and Mike Feinberg; former Mayor Annise Parker, Barbara and Gerald Hines; Marc J. Shapiro; Lester and Sue Smith; Sandra Weiner and Martin Fein; Naomi Warren and Fred Zeidman; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Ed Wulfe and the H-E-B grocery chain; Jack Blanton and The Houston Chronicle; the Rev. William A. Lawson and Julie and Ben Rogers; Linda P. Lay and Siegi Izakson; and Ron Stone.

Table Sponsor Levels and Benefits [PDF]

Questions? Contact Amanda Shagrin at 713-527-1622 or spiritlunch@hmh.org