give > Signature Events

Guardian of the Human Spirit Virtual Event

2020 Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon is Going Virtual!

November 9, 2020
Virtual Pre-Show - 11:50 am
Virtual Program - Noon

Sponsor Levels and Benefits [PDF]

Each year, the Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon raises essential funds supporting Holocaust and Human Rights education for students, teachers, members and the public. This year, contributions raised from this event will support the Museum’s free virtual education programming and learning resources to the Houston community and beyond. As the Museum continues to feel the impacts of the ongoing pandemic, the success of this event is more critical this year than any other. Our virtual event will offer a compelling hour-long program featuring an award presentation to our honoree, a special guest speaker and more, all in a safe online environment. Thank you for your support of Holocaust Museum Houston!

The 2020 Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon will honor Dr. Milton Boniuk. A longtime humanitarian, philanthropist and author, Dr. Boniuk bases much of his good works on a simple belief: Differences among individuals should be celebrated, not feared. His dedication to an inclusive community includes the creation of Holocaust Museum Houston’s Boniuk Library and Boniuk Center for the Future of Holocaust, Human Rights, and Genocide Studies, and Rice University’s Boniuk Institute for the Study and Advancement of Religious Tolerance.

Honorary Chairs
Marc L. Boom, M.D.
David W. Leebron, President, Rice University

Luncheon Chairs
Debra & Steven Cohen
Leisa Holland-Nelson & Bob Bowman
Elyse & Lewis Kalmans
Drs. Ann Ulmer & Timothy Stout

Host Committee Chairs
Abby Daniels & Debbie Tummins

Host Committee

Sheila Aron
Sue Sue & Don Aron
Lisa & David Aaronson
Chree Boydstun
Kaki & Larry Buck
Sue & Rusty Burnett
Rhona & Bruce Caress
Hande & Lenny Castiglione
Honorable Theresa Chang &
   Peter Chang, MD, PhD
Nancy & Jack Dinerstein
Cathy Easter & Lori Swann
Emran El-Badawi
Stacy & Michael Ellington
Denise & Steve Estrin
Fredda & Gary Friedlander
Andrew T. Gardener
Nicole & George Gibson
Paula Goldstein
Cheryl & Stephen Golub
Jennifer & Jason Gordon
Lynn Gordon & Hy Penn
Elizabeth & David Grzebinski
Sharyn Feller Harris & David Harris
Rabbi Oren J. Hayon
Punkin & Walter Hecht
Renee & Alan Helfman
BJ & Buddy Herz
Sam Jacobson
Carmen Jordan & Donni Leaycraft
Mady & Ken Kades
Debbie & Rick Kaplan

Elizabeth & Frank Karkowsky
Chris Kase
Judith Katz
Nicole & Evan H. Katz
Gail & Milton Klein
L. Charles Landgraf
Allison & Steve Lewis
Nicole & Glenn Lowenstein
Rebecca & David Luks
Maryanne & David Maldonado
Toni & Gary Miller
Judy & Mark Mucasey
Leila Perrin
Sandra Porter
Leslie & Russ Robinson
Regina Rogers
Glen Rosenbaum
Drs. Judith & Harvey Rosenstock
Limor & Stuart Smith
Sue Smith
Helen & Andrew Spector
Elizabeth & Alan Stein
Paula & Rick Stein
Ellen & Dan Trachtenberg
Ileana & Michael Trevino
Joy & Benjamin Warren
Robin & Donald Wayne
Jeannie & Gary Wermuth
Inna Wizig
Katherine & Mark Yzaguirre

As of 8/5/20


Since 1997, Holocaust Museum Houston (HMH) has recognized dedicated individuals and organizations who have worked to enhance the lives of others with the Guardian of the Human Spirit Award. These individuals and organizations embody the mission of the Museum by demonstrating a true commitment to service and building an open-minded society for the enrichment of the local population. 

Previous recipients of the award have included the Astros Foundation; Texas A&M Corps of Cadets and Aggie Liberators of World War II; UT President Gregory L. Fenves and The University of Texas at Austin; Ric Campo; Velva G. and H. Fred Levine; Edith and Josef Mincberg, Bill Morgan and Murry Bowden; the Harry Mach family; KIPP founders Dave Levin and Mike Feinberg; former Mayor Annise Parker, Barbara and Gerald Hines; Marc J. Shapiro; Lester and Sue Smith; Sandra Weiner and Martin Fein; Naomi Warren and Fred Zeidman; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Ed Wulfe and the H-E-B grocery chain; Jack Blanton and The Houston Chronicle; the Rev. William A. Lawson and Julie and Ben Rogers; Linda P. Lay and Siegi Izakson; and Ron Stone.

Sponsor Levels and Benefits [PDF]

Questions? Contact Amanda Shagrin at 713-527-1622 or