Holocaust Museum Houston Installs New Board of Directors

HOUSTON, TX (July 29, 2008) – Holocaust Museum Houston has added three new members to its Executive Committee and 18 new members to its 2008-2009 Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors will be focusing specifically this year on expanding educational programming and on the Museum’s long-term growth to accommodate a rapidly expanding audience base, according to Museum Chairman Walter Hecht.

Hecht said attendance at the Museum hit 97,463 people in its fiscal year 2005-2006 but jumped to 125,000 in 2006-2007 and to more than 150,000 for the fiscal year which ended June 30, 2008.

"With that kind of explosive growth and community interest in our exhibits, programs and speakers, our Board will spend much of this year making certain we can continue to offer quality programming and world-class exhibits to even larger audiences to teach the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy for many years to come,” he said.

New members to the Museum’s Executive Committee for 2008-2009 include Nancy Dinerstein, Marvin Kaplan and Sergio Weitzman. Continuing members are Hecht; Chair-Elect Michael S. Goldberg; Vice Chairs Tali Blumrosen, Andrew Bursten, Gary Markowitz and Benjamin S. Warren; Treasurer Robby Shelton; Secretary Eric J. Pulaski; Past Chairs Joel Spira, Eileen D. Weisman and Peter N. Berkowitz; and members R. Edwin Allday, Martha Freedman, Daniel P. Gordon, Barry Lewis, Richard J. Loewenstern, Soraya McClelland, Chaja Verveer and Lea Weems.

The Museum’s new Board members include: Linda L. Addison; Tobi Cooper; Isabel David; Linda G. Eisemann; Israel Fogiel; Adam Forman; Michael M. Gamson; Jodie L. Jiles; Douglas D. Koch, M.D.; Butch Mach; Rosalyn Margolis; Isabelle Mayer; Regina J. Rogers; Stacy Soefer; Jane Tavyev, M.D.; Ileana V. Treviño; Jeannie Wermuth; and Cyvia G. Wolff.

Other Board members include:David P. Bell, Ed.D.; Michael Bleyzer; Milton Boniuk, M.D.; Melissa Brunicardi; David A. Chaumette; the Hon. Anne Clutterbuck; Debra G. Cohen; Brian Cweren; Brenda J. DeVore; Jack Dulworth; Steven Finkelman; Diedra Fontaine; Barnett Gershen; Anne Graubart; Gary S. Grossman; Patricia Brooks Kagan; Marvin Kaplan; the Hon. M.J. Khan; Gail Klein; Lilly Lazarus; Mark Lee; Dr. Marcus Leuchter; Erica Levit; Leo Linbeck III; Frank Liu; Barry Mandel; Moez Mangalji; Muriel Meicler, Ph.D.; Michael S. Morgan; William J. Morgan; Leon Mucasey; Eve Newar; Roy Nichol; Gary M. Olander; the Hon. Annise Parker; Joe Pogge; Hazzan David Propis; Eric J. Pulaski; Rabbi Joseph Radinsky; Eileen Reed; Jay Rogers; Marika Rudy; the Hon. Frank Rynd; David I. Saperstein; Amb. Arthur L. Schechter; Stuart Schube; Marc Sharpe; Robby Shelton; Lester Smith; the Hon. Susan S. Soussan; Joel Spira; Ruth Steinfeld; Rabbi Brian Strauss; John F. Thrash, M.D.; Ellen Trachtenberg; Haya Varon; Benjamin S. Warren; Naomi Warren; Inna Wizig; E.D. Wulfe; and Joe Zuber.

New members of the Museum’s Advisory Board include: Alice Lok Cahana; Sandy Lessig; Velva Levine; Linda K. May; Ruth Morris; Mark Mucasey; Pepi Nichols; Anna Steinberger, Ph.D.; and the Hon. Fred S. Zeidman.

Other Advisory Board members include: Hazel Bensky; Celina Fein; Carol Fisherman; Nancy Freed; Jay Gerstenhaber; the Hon. Mark Goldberg; Alan Gover; Punkin Hecht; Glenda R. Kane; Walter Kase; the Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee; Max Levit; Hans Mayer; Isabel Mermelstein; Edith Mincberg; Ira Mitzner; Morris I. Penn; Gregg S. Philipson; Daniel B. Pickelner; Dr. Diane Plotkin; Garland Debner Pohl; Mitzi M. Shure; Marsha Wallace; Ben Waserman; and Sandra G. Weiner.

Holocaust Museum Houston is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors' legacy. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other genocides, the Museum teaches the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy.

Holocaust Museum Houston is free and open to the public and is located in Houston’s Museum District at 5401 Caroline St., Houston, TX 77004. For more information about the Museum, call 713-942-8000 or visit www.hmh.org.

Media Contact
For media inquiries, please contact:
Director, Marketing & Public Relations
Tel: (713) 942-8000, ext. 103
E-mail: news@hmh.org

Our Public Relations team is eager to assist you in coverage of activities at Holocaust Museum Houston.

All requests for interviews or on-site photography or videography by members of the media must be coordinated in advance through our Public Relations office by calling 713-942-8000, ext. 103 or e-mailing news@hmh.org.

Address and Directions
Holocaust Museum Houston
Morgan Family Center
5401 Caroline St.
Houston, TX 77004-6804
Phone: 713-942-8000

Holocaust Museum Houston is a member of the Houston Museum District Association and is located in Houston's Museum District.

Holocaust Museum Houston is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums.

Hours and Admission
The Museum is open to the public seven days a week.

Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, Noon to 5 p.m.

The Boniuk Library is open to the public from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The Library is closed Saturdays and Sundays.

The Museum is closed for Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Easter Sunday, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. For other holiday hours, visit the "Events" tab on the Museum’s Web site at www.hmh.org.


Members FREE
Children under age 6 FREE
Students age 6-18 FREE
College-level with valid school ID FREE
Seniors age 65+ $8
AARP members with valid ID card $8
Active-Duty Military $8
General Admission $12

Holocaust Museum Houston is free each Thursday from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. and on International Holocaust Remembrance Day (Jan. 27, 2017), Memorial Day (May 29, 2017), D-Day (June 6, 2017), and Kristallnacht (Nov. 9, 2017).

E-mail Page Sitemap Legal Notice Our Sponsors
Holocaust Museum Houston Morgan Family Center, 5401 Caroline St., Houston, TX 77004-6804, Tel: 713-942-8000, E-mail: info@hmh.org Powered by Nodus Solutions
Rss Feeds RSS Feeds Plan Your Visit   About HMH    Exhibitions   Events   Membership   Education/Outreach   Resources   News/Media   Support HMH   HMH Store