Holocaust Museum Houston Elects New Officers and Board
The Board of Directors of Holocaust Museum Houston elected its new officers and members at its Annual Meeting held at the Museum on March 21, 2002. Departing Chairman Ed Allday presented the slate of officers from the Nominating Committee and all were elected by acclamation. The officers for the 2002-2003 term are: David Bell, Chairman; Joel Spira, Chair-elect; Gail B. Miney, Vice-Chair for Development; Hazel Bensky, Vice-Chair for Education; Marsha Wallace, Vice-Chair for Administration; Linda Eisemann, Vice-Chair for the Museum; Eileen Weisman, Secretary; and Benjamin Samuels, Treasurer. Rounding out the Executive Committee are: Ed Allday, Mary Banks, Pete Berkowitz, Janis Goldstein, Punkin Hecht, Neil Lande, Linda Lay, Roy Nichol, Pepi Nichols, Nancy Padewer, Linda Toyota, Lea Weems, and E.D. Wulfe.

Bell, a founding board member at HMH, takes over as chairman after serving the past year as chair-elect in preparation. He is a native Houstonian who graduated from Brandeis University and received his doctoral degree from Stanford University. He has been affiliated with the University of Houston for 29 years and currently serves as Assistant Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs for the University of Houston and Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs for the University of Houston System. Bell has been active in the community, having been elected to numerous area boards such as the Anti-Defamation League, for which he served as chairman for the Southwest Region for the 1998-1999 term. Other current or past board memberships include The Emery/Weiner School, Jewish Federation of Greater Houston, Jewish Family Service, Interfaith Ministries of Greater Houston, American Jewish Committee, and Seven Acres Jewish Senior Care Services. He is married to Judy Rosenbloom Bell and has two daughters, Amelia and Elena.

Holocaust Museum Houston’s newly-elected board members are: Andrew Achenbaum, Tali Blumrosen, Alice Cahana, Andrew Gardner, Anne Graubart, Sandy Lessig, Ruth Morris, Mark Mucasey, Joseph Nixon, Peter Roth, Lanny Sachnowitz, Anna Steinberger, Rabbi Brian Strauss, Benjamin Warren, and Fred Zeidman.

The program also included a special presentation from Rice University’s Stephen Klineberg, author of the annual Houston Area Survey, showing the trends in age and ethnicity in Houston for the past 20 years. His presentation served to underscore the importance of the Museum and its mission to teach the dangers of hatred and prejudice.
Media Contact
For media inquiries, please contact:
Director, Marketing & Public Relations
Tel: (713) 942-8000, ext. 103
E-mail: news@hmh.org

Our Public Relations team is eager to assist you in coverage of activities at Holocaust Museum Houston.

All requests for interviews or on-site photography or videography by members of the media must be coordinated in advance through our Public Relations office by calling 713-942-8000, ext. 103 or e-mailing news@hmh.org.

Address and Directions
Holocaust Museum Houston is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums.

Hours and Admission
Museum Hours:

Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.

Museum Admission:

$12 for adults
$8 for active-duty military and AARP members
Free for children, students and college-level students with valid ID
Free admission on Sundays

E-mail Page Sitemap Legal Notice Our Sponsors
Holocaust Museum Houston Morgan Family Center, 9220 Kirby Drive, Suite 100, Houston, TX 77054, Tel: 713-942-8000, E-mail: info@hmh.org Powered by Nodus Solutions
Rss Feeds RSS Feeds Plan Your Visit   About HMH    Exhibitions   Events   Membership   Education/Outreach   Resources   News/Media   Support HMH   HMH Store