Holocaust Museum Houston Announces 2004-2005 Board Slate
HOUSTON, TX - Holocaust Museum Houston announced its 2004-2005 slate of officers and directors at its annual meeting recently held at the museum. The new administration, led by Chairperson Eileen Weisman, begins its term immediately.

In her inaugural address to board members, Weisman thanked the outgoing board and its chairman, Joel Spira, and the museum’s dedicated staff and volunteers. She referenced the museum’s mission of fostering remembrance, understanding and education as she recognized the personal connection and responsibility of the Board to the Holocaust survivors which the museum is dedicated. Said Weisman, “We are here this evening and every day because of our survivors. Our survivors’ stories make our work so vital and to whom we dedicate what we do to meet the challenges of today’s world and tomorrow’s future.”

Weisman is president of The WGroup, a Houston internal marketing communications firm. She began her relationship with the museum as a docent and immediately recognized the importance of promoting understanding and education to all those who came through the museum doors. As she continued with her remarks, Weisman proclaimed, “We are here because each and every one of us as human beings have a responsibility; we know we cannot be complacent, we must ensure the memory of all the victims of the Holocaust are not forgotten.” She went on to implore the incoming board to cultivate new interest in the museum and to embrace opportunities to deepen the museum’s mission, to share its message.

Says museum Executive Director Susan Llanes-Myers, “We are exited to be led by Eileen’s energy, commitment and acumen and by a board equally devoted to our mission. We look forward to a wonderful year ahead.”

Members of the 2004-2005 executive committee are Chairperson Eileen Weisman; Chair-Elect Peter Berkowitz; Vice Chairs Punkin Hecht, Steven Finkelman, Anna Steinberger and Sandy Lessig; Treasurer Peter Roth; Secretary Charles Foster; Former Chairs Ed Allday, David Bell and Joel Spira; and At Large Members Hazel Bensky, Tali Blumrosen, Murry Bowden, Nancy Freed, Martha Freedman, Dan Gordon, Gary Markowitz, Michael Trevino and Benjamin Warren; and Houston Holocaust Survivors President Lea Weems.

Members of the 2004-2005 board of directors are Andrew Achenbaum, Linda Addison, Bernard Aptaker, Mary E. Banks, Michael Bleyzer, Milton Boniuk, Andrew Bursten, Alice Lok Cahana, David Chaumette, Debra G. Cohen, Misha Cooper, Gene Festa, Carol Fisherman, Andrew Gardener, David Goldstein, Roslyn Haikin, Neil Lande, Linda Lay, Marcus Leuchter, JoAnn Levine, Barry Mandel, Linda K. May, Scott McClelland, Muriel Meicler, Isabel Mermelstein, Ira Mitzner, Bill Morgan, Michael Morgan, Richard Morgan, Ruth Morris, Leon Mucasey, Mark Mucasey, Mary Munson-Murphy, Roy Nichol, Pepi Nichols, Rep. Joseph Nixon, Hon. Annise Parker, Daniel Pickelner, Joy Plantowsky, Cantor David Propis, Eric Pulaski, Rabbi Joseph Radinsky, Judge Clarease Rankin-Yates, Patricia Rauch, Eileen Reed, Msgr. Frank H. Rossi, Benjamin Samuels, David Saperstein, Jeri Shapiro, Rabbi Laura Sheinkopf, Lester Smith, Rabbi Brian Strauss, Ellen Trachtenberg, Haya Varon, Chaja Verveer, Marsha Wallace, Naomi Warren, Ben Waserman, Sandra Weiner, Ed Wulfe, and Fred Zeidman.

Members of the 2004-2005 advisory board are Laurie Bricker, Frieda Dow, Linda Eisemann, Bobby Epstein, Celina Fein, Hon. Mark Goldberg, Janis Goldstein, Glenda Kane, Walter Kase, Gail Klein, Velva Levine, Max Levit, Barry Margolis, Hans Mayer, Frank Michel, Edith Mincberg, Morris Penn, Garland Debner Pohl, Hon. Gordon Quan, Regina J. Rogers, Amb. Arthur Schechter, Mitzi Shure, and Ruth Steinfeld.

Holocaust Museum Houston promotes awareness and educates the public of the dangers of prejudice, hatred and violence against the backdrop of the Holocaust by fostering remembrance, understanding and education. Located in Houston’s Museum District at 5401 Caroline Street, Houston, TX 77004, the museum is open to the public and general admission is free. Its Internet address is http://www.hmh.org.
Media Contact
For media inquiries, please contact:
Director, Marketing & Public Relations
Tel: (713) 942-8000, ext. 103
E-mail: news@hmh.org

Our Public Relations team is eager to assist you in coverage of activities at Holocaust Museum Houston.

All requests for interviews or on-site photography or videography by members of the media must be coordinated in advance through our Public Relations office by calling 713-942-8000, ext. 103 or e-mailing news@hmh.org.

Address and Directions
Holocaust Museum Houston is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums.

Hours and Admission
Museum Hours:

Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.

Museum Admission:

$12 for adults
$8 for active-duty military and AARP members
Free for children, students and college-level students with valid ID
Free admission on Sundays

E-mail Page Sitemap Legal Notice Our Sponsors
Holocaust Museum Houston Morgan Family Center, 9220 Kirby Drive, Suite 100, Houston, TX 77054, Tel: 713-942-8000, E-mail: info@hmh.org Powered by Nodus Solutions
Rss Feeds RSS Feeds Plan Your Visit   About HMH    Exhibitions   Events   Membership   Education/Outreach   Resources   News/Media   Support HMH   HMH Store