Berkowitz, Hecht to Lead Museum Board of Directors

HOUSTON, TX (July 5, 2005)Members of Holocaust Museum Houston have elected longtime volunteer P.N. Berkowitz to take over as chair of the Board of Directors, with Walter Hecht serving as chair-elect.

Berkowitz assumes leadership of the Museum for the next two years from Eileen Weisman, who held a one-year term. He has served as the vice chair of the Board, on its Executive Committee and as a member of the Board.

“Holocaust Museum Houston serves a unique role in our city. With its diverse membership, active group of Holocaust survivors and extensive network of dedicated volunteers, it can teach the dangers of intolerance, prejudice and apathy to future generations in a way no other organization can, and I am honored to help lead it into its next decade,” Berkowitz said.

The Museum moved into its current facilities in Houston’s Museum District in March 1996 and will be celebrating its 10th anniversary with a variety of activities throughout next year.

Berkowitz serves as a member of the Executive Committee of Hillel Texas and is a consultant to several Houston area non-profit organizations, providing mentoring, marketing and business plan studies. He founded GE Continental Controls in 1983 and served as the engineering firm’s CEO until 2001. He has served in leadership and engineering positions with a variety of firms and as a consultant to several major oil companies.

Others elected to leadership positions include Gail Klein, as vice chair for development; Punkin Hecht as vice chair for administration; Gary Markowitz as vice chair of the Museum; Daniel Pickelner and Anna Steinberger, Ph.D., as vice chairmen for education; Benjamin Warren as secretary, and Steve Finkelman as treasurer.

Members elected to the Board include: W. Andrew Achenbaum, Ph.D.; Linda Addison; R. Edwin Allday; Bernard Aptaker; Mary E. Banks; David P. Bell, Ed.D.; Hazel Bensky; the Hon. Michael Berry; Michael Bleyzer; Tali Blumrosen; Milton Boniuk, M.D.; J. Murry Bowden; Andrew Bursten; Alice Lok Cahana; David Chaumette; Debra G. Cohen; Misha Cooper; Brian Cweren; Frieda Dow; Gene Festa; Carol Fisherman; Nancy Freed; Martha Freedman; Andrew T. Gardener; Elliott Gershenson; Michael Goldberg; David Goldstein; Dan Gordon; Alan Gover; Lilly Lazarus; Sandy Lessig; JoAnn Levine; Velva G. Levine; Richard Loewenstern; Barry Mandel; Jackie Martin; Linda K. May; Soraya McClelland; Muriel Meicler, Ph.D.; Isabel Mermelstein; Amy Miflin; Bill Morgan; Michael Morgan; Ruth Morris; and Leon Mucasey.

Others are: Mark Mucasey; Mary Munson-Murphy; Roy Nichol; Pepi Nichols; Rep. Joseph Nixon; the Hon. Annise Parker; Joy Plantowsky; Cantor David Propis; Eric Pulaski; Rabbi Joseph Radinsky; the Hon. Clarease Rankin-Yates; Eileen Reed; Peter Roth; Cheryl Rubenstein; Marika Rudy; the Hon. Frank Rynd; Benjamin Samuels; David I. Saperstein; Jeri Shapiro; Robbie Shelton; Lester Smith; Joel Spira; Ruth Steinfeld; Rabbi Brian Strauss; John Thrash, M.D.; Ellen Trachtenberg; Michael Trevino; Haya Varon; Chaja Verveer; Naomi Warren; Ben Waserman; Lea Weems; Sandra Weiner; Eileen Weisman; the Hon. Martha Wong; E.D. Wulfe; the Hon. Fred Zeidman; and Joseph Zuber.

Members of the Advisory Board for 2005-2006 include: the Hon. Laurie Bricker; Linda Eisemann; Bobby Epstein; Celina Fein; Israel Fogiel; the Hon. Mark Goldberg; Janis Goldstein; Roslyn Haikin; Glenda Kane; Walter Kase; Marcus Leuchter, Ph.D.; Max Levit; Hans Mayer; Barry Margolis; John Mendelsohn, M.D.; Frank Michel; Edith Mincberg; Ira Mitzner; Morris Penn; Gregg Philipson; Garland Debner Pohl; the Hon. Gordon Quan; Bernard Rapoport; Regina J. Rogers; Ambassador Arthur Schechter; Mitzi Shure; Marsha Wallace; Mary Lee Webeck, Ph.D.; and Andrea White.

Holocaust Museum Houston promotes awareness and educates the public of the dangers of prejudice, hatred and violence against the backdrop of the Holocaust by fostering remembrance, understanding and education. Holocaust Museum Houston is free and open to the public and is located in Houston's Museum District at 5401 Caroline St., Houston, TX 77004.

For more information about Holocaust Museum Houston, call 713-942-8000 or visit www.hmh.org.

Media Contact
For media inquiries, please contact:
Director, Marketing & Public Relations
Tel: (713) 942-8000, ext. 103
E-mail: news@hmh.org

Our Public Relations team is eager to assist you in coverage of activities at Holocaust Museum Houston.

All requests for interviews or on-site photography or videography by members of the media must be coordinated in advance through our Public Relations office by calling 713-942-8000, ext. 103 or e-mailing news@hmh.org.

Address and Directions
Holocaust Museum Houston is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums.

Hours and Admission
Museum Hours:

Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.

Museum Admission:

$12 for adults
$8 for active-duty military and AARP members
Free for children, students and college-level students with valid ID
Free admission on Sundays

E-mail Page Sitemap Legal Notice Our Sponsors
Holocaust Museum Houston Morgan Family Center, 9220 Kirby Drive, Suite 100, Houston, TX 77054, Tel: 713-942-8000, E-mail: info@hmh.org Powered by Nodus Solutions
Rss Feeds RSS Feeds Plan Your Visit   About HMH    Exhibitions   Events   Membership   Education/Outreach   Resources   News/Media   Support HMH   HMH Store