Holocaust Museum Houston Installs New Board of Directors

HOUSTON, TX (July 27, 2007) Holocaust Museum Houston has added 21 new members to its 2007-2008 Board of Directors and Advisory Board to better represent the diversity of the Museum’s audiences and to increase participation of its corporate members.

“The Museum’s visitors come from various areas of life; from young to old, different faiths and beliefs and all levels of income. This is why it is important that the Museum’s leadership show even more diversity as well,” said Holocaust Museum Houston Executive Director Susan Myers.

The Board of Directors will be focusing specifically this year on expanding educational programming and the Museum’s growth.

The Museum’s Executive Committee for 2007-2008 includes; Walter Hecht, chair; Michael S. Goldberg, chair-elect; Tali Blumrosen, Gary Markowitz, Michael S. Morgan and Benjamin S. Warren, all vice-chairs; Robby Shelton, treasurer; and Eric J. Pulaski, secretary. Other members include R. Edwin Allday, Peter N. Berkowitz, Andrew Bursten, Martha Freedman, Daniel P. Gordon, Velva G. Levine, Barry Lewis, Richard J. Loewenstern, Soraya McClelland, Joel Spira, J. Michael Treviño, Chaja Verveer, Lea Weems and Eileen D. Weisman.

The Museum’s new Board members include: Diedra Fontaine; Barnett Gershen; Gary S. Grossman; Patricia Brooks Kagan; Dr. Marcus Leuchter; Erica Levit; Frank Liu; Ambassador Arthur L. Schechter; Tracy Stein; Inna Wizig; and Patricia D. Wright.

Other Board members include: W. Andrew Achenbaum; R. Edwin Allday; David P. Bell, Ed.D.; Peter N. Berkowitz; Hon. Michael Berry; Michael Bleyzer; Tali Blumrosen; Milton Boniuk, M.D.; Melissa Brunicardi; Andrew Bursten; Alice Lok Cahana; Margaret E. Carriere; David A. Chaumette; Hon. Anne Clutterbuck; Debra G. Cohen; Brian P. Cweren; Brenda J. DeVore; Nancy S. Dinerstein; Clyde Drexler; Jack Dulworth; Steven Finkelman; S. David Frankfort; Martha Freedman; Michael S. Goldberg; David Goldstein; Daniel P. Gordon; Anne Graubart; Walter Hecht; Marvin Kaplan; Hon. M.J. Khan; Gail Klein; Lilly Lazarus; Mark Lee; Sandy Lessig; Velva G. Levine; Barry Lewis; Leo Linbeck III; Richard J. Loewenstern; Barry Mandel; Moez Mangalji; Gary Markowitz; Linda K. May; Soraya McClelland; Muriel Meicler, Ph.D.; Rosanna Moreno; Michael S. Morgan; William J. Morgan; Ruth Morris; Leon Mucasey; Mark Mucasey; Eve Newar; Roy Nichol; Pepi Joskowitz Nichols; Hon. Joseph M. Nixon; Gary M. Olander; Hon. Annise Parker; Joe Pogge; Hazzan David Propis; Eric J. Pulaski; Rabbi Joseph Radinsky; Eileen Reed; Jay Rogers; Marika Rudy; Hon. Frank Rynd; David I. Saperstein; Stuart Schube; Marc Sharpe; Robby Shelton; Lester Smith; Hon. Susan S. Soussan; Joel Spira; Anna Steinberger, Ph.D.; Ruth Steinfeld; Rabbi Brian Strauss; John F. Thrash, M.D.; Ellen Trachtenberg; J. Michael Treviño; Haya Varon; Chaja Verveer; Benjamin S. Warren; Naomi Warren; Lea Weems; Eileen D. Weisman; Sergio G. Weitzman; Martha Wong; E.D. Wulfe; Hon. Fred S. Zeidman; and Joe Zuber.

The new members of the Advisory Board include: Linda L. Addison; Hazel Bensky; Nancy Freed; Jay Gerstenhaber; Alan Gover; Douglas D. Koch, M.D.; Isabel Mermelstein; Diane Plotkin, Ph.D.; Ben Waserman; and Sandra G. Weiner.

Other Advisory Board members include: J. Murry Bowden; Linda G. Eiseman; Celina Fein; Carol Fisherman; Israel Fogiel; Mark Goldberg; Punkin Hecht; Glenda R. Kane; Walter Kase; Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee; Max Levit; Barry H. Margolis; Hans Mayer; Edith Mincberg; Ira Mitzner; Morris I. Penn; Gregg S. Philipson; Daniel B. Pickelner; Garland Debner Pohl; Bernard Rapoport; Regina J. Rogers; Benjamin Samuels; Mitzi M. Shure; and Marsha Wallace.

Holocaust Museum Houston is dedicated to educating people about the Holocaust, remembering the 6 million Jews and other innocent victims and honoring the survivors' legacy. Using the lessons of the Holocaust and other genocides, the Museum teaches the dangers of hatred, prejudice and apathy.

Holocaust Museum Houston is free and open to the public and is located in Houston’s Museum District at 5401 Caroline St., Houston, TX 77004. For more information about the Museum, call 713-942-8000 or visit www.hmh.org.

Media Contact
For media inquiries, please contact:
Director, Marketing & Public Relations
Tel: (713) 942-8000, ext. 103
E-mail: news@hmh.org

Our Public Relations team is eager to assist you in coverage of activities at Holocaust Museum Houston.

All requests for interviews or on-site photography or videography by members of the media must be coordinated in advance through our Public Relations office by calling 713-942-8000, ext. 103 or e-mailing news@hmh.org.

Address and Directions
Holocaust Museum Houston is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums.

Hours and Admission
Museum Hours:

Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.

Museum Admission:

$12 for adults
$8 for active-duty military and AARP members
Free for children, students and college-level students with valid ID
Free admission on Sundays

E-mail Page Sitemap Legal Notice Our Sponsors
Holocaust Museum Houston Morgan Family Center, 9220 Kirby Drive, Suite 100, Houston, TX 77054, Tel: 713-942-8000, E-mail: info@hmh.org Powered by Nodus Solutions
Rss Feeds RSS Feeds Plan Your Visit   About HMH    Exhibitions   Events   Membership   Education/Outreach   Resources   News/Media   Support HMH   HMH Store